Football: Mbappé and Messi in the FIFA Trophy “Best” race

Argentina’s Lionel Messi and France’s Kylian Mbappe are set to battle it out for FIFA’s top player of the year 2022 trophy, the shortlist was revealed on Thursday as they face each other in the World Cup final.

Neymar, the third member of Paris Saint-Germain’s “MNM”, is among the candidates for the “Golden ball” as well as Karim Benzema, Norwegian prodigy Erling Haaland or Croatian Luka Modric. The result will be announced on February 27. Football fans can vote online until 11:59 p.m. Paris time on February 3. In early February 2023, FIFA will announce the three finalists in each category.

Since its inception in 2016, only four players have made the list: Cristiano Ronaldo (2016, 2017), Luka Modric (2018), Lionel Messi (2019) and Robert Lewandowski (2020, 2021).

Among the women, the Spanish double Golden ball Alexia Putellas, the English woman Beat Mead or the Australian Sam Kerr are competing.

World Cup finalists Didier Deschamps (France) and Lionel Scaloni (Argentina) for the best coach trophy with Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Champions League winner with Real Madrid, Carlo Ancelotti and Moroccan coach Walid Regraghi, fourth in the World Cup and Wydad Casablanca Winner of the African Champions League.

The International Federation also awards the best coach, best goalkeeper and best goalkeeper, as well as planning the supporters’ cup and the Puskas award for goal of the year. English Alessia Russo in the semi-finals of the Euro.

14 players named:

Aitana Bonmati (Spain – Barcelona)

Debinha (BRE – North Carolina Courage)

Jessie Fleming (CAN-Chelsea)

Ada Hegerberg (NOR – Lyon)

Sam Kerr (AUS-Chelsea)

Beth Mead (England – Arsenal)

Vivianne Miedema (PB – Arsenal)

Alex Morgan (USA – Orlando Pride and San Diego Wave)

Lena Oberdorf (Germany – Wolfsburg)

Alexandra Popp (Germany – Wolfsburg)

Alexia Putellas (Spain – Barcelona)

Wendy Renard (FRA – Lyon)

Keira Walsh (England – “Manchester City” and “Barcelona”)

Leah Williamson (England – Arsenal)

14 players named:

Julian Alvarez (ARG – River Plate and Manchester City)

Jude Bellingham (England – Borussia Dortmund)

Karim Benzema (FRA – Real Madrid)

Kevin De Bruyne (BEL-Manchester City)

Erling Haaland (Northern Germany – Borussia Dortmund and Manchester City)

Achraf Hakim (MAR – PSG)

Robert Lewandowski (POL – FC Bayern Munich and Barcelona)

Sadio Mane (SEN – Liverpool and Bayern Munich)

Kylian Mbappe (FRA – PSG)

Lionel Messi (ARG-PSG)

Luka Modric (CRO – Real Madrid)

Neymar (BRE-PSG)

Mohamed Salah (England – Liverpool)

Vinicius Junior (BRE – Real Madrid)

6 named coaches:

Sonia Bompastor (FRA – Lyon)

Emma Hayes (England – Chelsea)

Bev Priestman (England – Canada)

Pia Sundhage (Sweden – Brazil)

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany – Germany)

Sarina Wiegman (NL – England and Holland)

5 nominated coaches:

Carlo Ancelotti (ITA-Real Madrid)

Didier Deschamps (FRA – France)

Pep Guardiola (Spain-Manchester City)

Walid Regragui (MAR – Wydad Casablanca and Morocco)

Lionel Scaloni (ARG – Argentina)

Name of 6 goalkeepers:

Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany – Chelsea)

Mary Earps (England – Manchester United)

Christian Endler (CL – Lyon)

Merle Frohms (Germany – Eintracht Frankfurt and Wolfsburg)

Alyssa Naeher (USA – Chicago Red Stars)

Sandra Paños Garcia-Villamil (Spain – Barcelona)

5 appointed trustees:

Alisson Becker (BRE-Liverpool)

Yassine Bounou (MAR – Sevilla)

Thibaut Courtois (BEL-Real Madrid)

Ederson (BRE – Manchester City)

Emiliano Martinez (ARG – Aston Villa)

The 11 nominees for the Puskas Award for the best goal:

Mario Balotelli (ITA): Adana Demirspor – Goztepe Izmir (22/5/22)

Amandine Henry (FRA): Barcelona v Lyon (21/5/22)

Theo Hernández (FRA): AC Milan v Atalanta Bergamo (15/5/22)

Alou Kuol (AUS): Iraq v Australia U20 (4/6/22)

Kylian Mbappé (FRA): Argentina v France (18/12/22)

Francisco González Metilli (ARG): Central Cordoba vs Rosario Central (1/8/22)

Marcin Oleksy (POL): Warta Poznan – Stal Rzeszow (6/11/2222)

Salma Paralluelo (Spain): Barcelona v Villarreal (2/4/22)

Dimitri Payet (FRA): OM v PAOK Thessaloniki (7/4/22)

Richarlison (BRE): Brazil v Serbia (24/11/22)

Alessia Russo (England): England v Sweden (26/7/22)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *