? Ionian Islands – Definition and explanations


The edges of the Ionian Islands
country Greece Greece
The capital (The capital (Latin caput, capitis, head) is the city where the powers sit,…) Corfu (Corcyra or Corfou (from Italian: Corfù, Greek:…) city (A city is an urban unit (“human settlement”…) (Corkira)
(ISO 3166-2 code)
  • GR-21 Zante
  • GR-22 Corfu
  • GR-23 Kefalonia (Kefalonia (Italian Cefalonia, Greek:…) and Ithaca (Ithaca (Ancient Greek Φεάκη or Ιθάκη…)
  • GR-24 Lefkada (Lefkada (Greek: Λευκάδα, Lefkáda) is an island…)
Statistics (Statistics is both a formal science, a method, and a technique. It…)
Territory (Area or surface area is the size of a surface. By metonymy we often designate…) 2307 km2
Population 212,984 people.
Density (The density or relative density of a body is equal to the ratio of its density ….) 92.32 inhabitants/km2

The Ionian Islands (in Greek IslandsItalian Isole Ionie) a archipelago (An archipelago is a group of islands relatively close to each other. Proximity…) of the ionian sea (The Ionian Sea is part of the Mediterranean Sea.) located at north west (North-west is the direction between the north and west cardinal points. North-west…) Peloponnese, forthe west (West is the cardinal point, opposite east. This direction…) Epirus and Southwest (Southwest is the half direction between the south and west cardinal points. The…) From Albania. They are today A territory (The concept of territory is becoming more and more important in geography and especially…) Greek.

The Ionian Islands consist of seven main islands off the west coast of Greece.

The vegetation (Vegetation is a collection of wild or cultivated plants (flora) that…) it is abundant there, thanks to its forests a weather (Climate is the statistical distribution of atmospheric conditions…) soft and relatively moist.

The Ionian Islands are the administrative region (or periphery) of Greece, six of the main islands of the archipelago that gave it its name, six of which are located on the west coast of the country: Corfu, Paxos, Ithaca, Kefalonia, Lefkada. and Zante. island Kythera (Kythera (in ancient Greek ἡ Κυθηρία / hê…)located at south (South is the cardinal point against north.) Peloponnese, added periphery (The word periphery comes from the Greek word peripheria and means circle. Read more…) Attica (name of Piraeus).

This “periphery” is divided into four noma (prefectures):

  • Zante
  • Corfu
  • Cephalonia and Ithaca
  • Lefkada

The story

ancient Greece

according to odyssey Homer’s Odysseus was the king of Ithaca.

In 31 BC, the naval battle of Actium took place nearIsland (An island is a piece of land surrounded by water, be it a river or…) Lefkada.

Medieval Greece

Corfu became a dependency of the Republic of Venice in 1204. In 1393, Kythera fell under the rule of the Venetians. Then the turn came to Zante in 1482, a year later (in 1483) to Kefalonia and Ithaca, and finally to Lefkada in 1502.

The Ionian Islands were the only part of Greek territory that could escape Ottoman occupation. During this period, the upper classes of society accepted Catholicism and number (The concept of number in linguistics is considered in the article “Number…”) from them they had converted to Italian (they spoke the Venetian dialect instead). However, the majority of the population remained attached to the language and the language Culture (Culture is a pangalactic civilization invented by Iain M. Banks through his…) Greeks as well as the Orthodox religion.

Modern Greece

When Greek nationalism emerged XVIIIe century, the Ionian Islands became a haven for intellectuals and freedom fighters, as well as their sympathizers.

The annexation of the islands by revolutionary France at the signing of the Treaty of Campo-Formio in 1797 led to the creation of the last of the three baptized French departments of Greece: Corcyra, Ithaca and Mer-Aege. These were finally suppressed in 1802 after the loss of these territories in 1798 and 1799.

From April 2, 1800 to July 20, 1807, the archipelago was occupied by Russian-Ottoman forces, and then it was put under their joint protectorate. country (Country comes from the Latin pagus, which designates a territorial and tribal division…), under the name “Republic of Sept-Îles”. In 1807, Russia gave the islands to France, which annexed them again.

Most of the Ionian Islands, occupied by the British since 1809 (except for Corfu, which was blockaded until 1814), were given to Great Britain (formally Napoleon’s victorious powers) as a protectorate. to deal with Paris (Paris is a French city, the capital of France and the capital of the region…) November 5, 1815.

The British call the protectorate “Republic of the Ionian Islands” (United States of Ionia) and give it a Constitution. The Ionian Islands had a Senate from 1799 to 1864. They were returned to Greece on 21 May 1864 and annexed on 2 June.

It was occupied in 1941-1943 italian (Italian is the name used for the rope used to maneuver the furrier…)followed by the German occupation, in which the Jewish population was deported and exterminated, then the islands were returned to Greece.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *